Squat Every Day: Week 2

dreams

All done week 2 of Squat Every Day. This week beat me down and built me back up again all at the same time. It also caused me to create Squat Every Day version…..4.0 I think, I have honestly lost track of what version I am on. The big hitters this week were 10 second pause back squats on Tuesday and then on Thursday doing front-back squats (all the same rep scheme as any other squat day but you do front squat for a number of reps and then straight to the same reps of back squat then up the weight and repeat for the next set). With those two days so close together I was really dragging my butt by the end of Thursday. Friday rolled around and I ended up having a pretty decent day still so that was good to see I could recover after some pretty tough workouts. I’m pretty sure my CNS took a big hit on those two days, especially having them so close together. Looking back on it 10 seconds is a LOOOOOONNNNGGGG time to sit in the active bottom of a squat, everything was shaking by the time I went to stand up. Then on Thursday with the front-back squat I accumulated over 11,000lbs of squatting. I think I’m allowed to be tired after that, I’d actually be concerned if I wasn’t. So that is why in Squat Every Day 4.0 the 10 second pause squats are one week and the front-back squats are the next. I have also added in one more lunge session per week, two bench days per week and 2 gymnastic sessions per week.

I have a feeling that by the time I get through these next two weeks I will probably be on Squat Every Day 6.0 or 4.2 or something, I’m not really sure what warrants a change in the first number versus a change in the decimal. Along with being on a whole new version, each training session is getting longer and longer as I find things I want/need to add into my workouts. Right now each session ranges from 30-90 minutes, not including a cool down. At this point if I start adding much more I’m going to have to start breaking them up into two-a-days.

On the note of two-a-days, I did one this Saturday again and it actually wasn’t too bad. After doing squats, deadlifts, and lunges in the morning it ended up that the workout later that day had more deadlifts (much lighter) and squats (back, front, and overhead all with light weight but 20-40 reps). Needless to say I was pretty bagged by the end, and had zero issue falling asleep that night.

As far as numbers go I am still increasing all my lifts. My 3 rep max for deadlift managed to increase by about 10lbs, my back squat went up 5lbs, and my front squat went up 20lbs. My body has been holding together pretty well thus far as well. I think I need to take a few more minutes to stretch, roll, and mobilize at the end of each session just to keep up with the high demand of maxing out pretty much every day. Exercises like pigeon, glute smash (with lacrosse ball), hamstring smash, and cooling if down on the air bike are the main things I find that help me stay loose and healthy.

Here is the link to Squat Every Day: Week 1 if you want to check out how things went then.

Stay Positive, Be Better, and Go Get It!

6 thoughts on “Squat Every Day: Week 2”

  1. Staying down for 10 seconds at the bottom of every squat is a great idea. Imna start implementing it from today!
    Cheers!

    Like

    1. When I do the 10 second hold at the bottom I only do it on the last rep of each set. If I did it on all my reps, the set of 10 would take almost 2 minutes. But yes, it is a great way to change things up and challenge your body in a different way!
      Take care and enjoy!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

