Squat Every Day: Week 5

Fallen

Rest day on Wednesday was much needed and totally worth it! Did not do any training, just worked and read Game of Thrones. Then I was back at it Thursday. Thursday did some pause front squats, then on Friday I had Funsquat Friday. I did a snatch complex of one snatch deadlift, one snatch pull, and one hang snatch. I started at 95lbs and added 5lbs every minute to end at 165lbs. Then after a few attempts at 170lbs I got that one too. Looking back at it I should have done every 90 seconds because by the time I did the lifts and then changed the plates I usually had about 15 seconds “rest”. Saturday was a BIG day in many ways. Lots of training time (total of like 5 hours by the end of it all, with some chit chat during….), PR’d two lifts (14 more reps on “death by back squat” and 35lbs added to overhead squat), it was my birthday so I got lots of love from family and friends, and I ate a lot of food. I do think after the day I had I earned the extra two donuts, large blizzard, and supper out. Sunday was a fun day too. Another coach and I did “3 bars of death” which wasn’t what I first thought it was going to be but it turned out to be alright. Rather than back squat, deadlift, and press it was “Linda” (10 reps -> 1 rep of deadlift, bench press, and power clean) which I did in 22:21. After the last few days that I have had I was pretty happy with that. Next time I am going for a time under 20 min.

This up coming week I am getting back into my version of squat every day. Starting it off by working up to a technical max on unbelted and belted back squat. Basically this means I will probably get to about 95-97% of my true max on each lift. I do not want to go to failure this week but rather, go till I hit a really heavy single but maintain good form throughout the lift. Then I will be moving into some pause squats, tempo squats, and my second favourite variation of squat….the front-back squat. I also have close grip bench press on one day, lunges on four days, and deadlift on two days.

In the next two weeks I will have four deadlift days. I plan to make one of them into a three pause deadlift, pausing at knee, thigh, and hip. I messed around with it this week and think it would be beneficial to me as my deadlift is not very consistent and it will force me to keep good form throughout the lift. Over those same two weeks I have two bench press days, one of which I am going to try pause bench where I pause for a full second with the bar on my chest. I am still going to keep Funsquat Friday and as luck would have it this week I do front-back squats on Friday so I will most likely just leave that there.

The thing that I am really excited about is that I am back to looking forward lifting again. After my crappy start to last week I was in the dumps about this whole squatting thing and really was not happy about it at all. After the last three days I have had  this week though I am back to being excited about lifting and looking forward to start again and seeing what the next 3-4 weeks will bring.

Links to the previous weeks:

Squat Every Day: Week 1

Squat Every Day: Week 2

Squat Every Day: Week 3

Squat Every Day: Week 4

Stay Positive, Be Better, and Go Get It!

2 thoughts on “Squat Every Day: Week 5”

Leave a Reply

