Do What YOU Can Do

Youer

Do what you can do, GENIUS! Of course you’re going to do what you can do, what else would you do? You’re not going to do something you can’t do, because, well…..you can’t. If you can do something then that is what you will do.

If you had to read that once, or twice, or maybe six times over don’t worry, even I read it over, and I wrote it. What I’m trying to get at is that if you know you can’t do something right at that moment then don’t worry about it. I see lots of people getting caught up in what other people can do and freaking out because they can’t do it. If you know you can’t run a 15 second 100m that’s fine. How fast can you run 100m? Then run it that fast. You can’t squat 400lbs? Neither can I, but I can squat 275lbs so that’s what I’m going to do. I might try 280lbs because I like to challenge myself but I’m not going to throw 400lbs on the bar and crush myself with it. That doesn’t help anyone, especially not me. I am also not going to dwell on the fact that he can squat over 100lbs more than I can and let that mess up my day. Maybe some day I will be able to squat 400lbs or run a 15 seconds 100m but today is not that day. I am going to work smart and hard to try to progress to those goals. Just don’t let yourself get caught up in the moment when you see the guy behind you deadlift 600lbs and you are about to lift 400lbs. Once upon a time he was struggling to lift 400lbs too. He has put in A LOT of hours to get to that 600lbs deadlift, plus he probably weighs another 80lbs more than you and is probably a half a foot taller. You may not be able to lift it now, but maybe with lots of hard work you can some day lift that 600lbs too.

Most of the time it is not going to do you any good to be worrying and stressing over what other people can do. It is not bad to know what they can do and the difference between them and yourself, as it can give you something to work towards. But if you are stressing out because someone else is better at something than you are, you’re not doing yourself any favours. You can’t do what they can do, that’s fine. There are probably a couple things that you CAN do that they CAN’T. It does you no good to focus on what you can’t do, that’s not a very good mentality. Everyone has strengths and weaknesses and you just have to try to play to your strengths and improve on your weaknesses. Try to create the best you that you can and be better than yesterday.

It comes back to competing against yourself rather than the people around you. So next time you hear about or see someone lifting more than you or doing something better than you, don’t sweat it. Just focus on your task at hand and do it to your best ability. Use that difference between you and the other person as motivation rather than let it cripple you. Do what YOU can do!

“Today you are you, that is truer than true, there is no one alive who is youer than you” – Dr. Seuss

Stay Positive and Go Get It

Leave a comment